mercoledì 27 aprile 2016

ESA PR09-2016 – Launch of second satellite in ‘radar vision’ mission

Launch of second satellite in ‘radar vision’ mission

The second satellite of the Sentinel-1 mission – Sentinel-1B – is set for launch from Europe’s Spaceport in French Guiana on 22 April at 21:02 GMT (23:02 CEST). Media representatives are invited to follow the launch online or attend the main launch event at ESA’s ESRIN centre for Earth observation in Frascati, Italy.  The Sentinel satellites deliver the wealth of data and imagery that are central to the EU’s Copernicus programme. By offering a set of key information services for a broad range of applications, this global monitoring programme is a step change in the way we manage our environment, understand and tackle the effects of climate change, and safeguard everyday lives. The Sentinel-1 mission carries an advanced radar to provide an all-weather, day-and-night supply of imagery of Earth’s surface. The first in the two-satellite mission – Sentinel-1A – was launched in April 2014 and its data have already been exploited for a range of services related to the monitoring of Arctic sea-ice extent, routine sea-ice mapping, surveillance of the marine environment, including oil-spill monitoring and ship detection for maritime security, monitoring land surface for motion risks, mapping for forest, water and soil management, and mapping to support humanitarian aid and crisis situations. Once its sister Sentinel-1B is in orbit, the mission will be able to image every place on Earth every six days – and in some places even more frequently – offering increased coverage for operational and scientific applications.
For the latest news and information on this mission, visit:

About the European Space Agency

The European Space Agency (ESA) provides Europe’s gateway to space. ESA is an intergovernmental organisation, created in 1975, with the mission to shape the development of Europe’s space capability and ensure that investment in space delivers benefits to the citizens of Europe and the world. ESA has 22 Member States: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom, of whom 20 are Member States of the EU. ESA has established formal cooperation with seven other Member States of the EU. Canada takes part in some ESA programmes under a Cooperation Agreement. By coordinating the financial and intellectual resources of its members, ESA can undertake programmes and activities far beyond the scope of any single European country. It is working in particular with the EU on implementing the Galileo and Copernicus programmes. ESA develops the launchers, spacecraft and ground facilities needed to keep Europe at the forefront of global space activities. Today, it develops and launches satellites for Earth observation, navigation, telecommunications and astronomy, sends probes to the far reaches of the Solar System and cooperates in the human exploration of space.

Learn more about ESA at